CEE Professors Receive College of Engineering Honors

CEE Professors Raskin and Bernardini named award recipients.

Congratulations to CEE faculty Lutgarde Raskin and Enrica Bernardini for being honored by the College of Engineering.

Portrait of Lutgarde Raskin
Lutgarde Raskin

Lutgarde Raskin is the Altarum/ERIM Russell O’Neal Professor of Engineering and Vernon L. Snoeyink Distinguished University Professor of Environmental Engineering. Raskin is receiving the Stephen S. Attwood Award for 2021-2022. This award is the highest honor awarded by the College of Engineering to a faculty member who has displayed determination and extraordinary achievements in their work. She earned BS and MS degrees in both Bioscience Engineering and Economics from the University of Leuven, Belgium, and her PhD in Environmental Engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. 

“Professor Raskin’s work continues to shape the fields of environmental engineering and

environmental biotechnology,” said one nominator. “She encourages each of her students to challenge assumptions, pursue complex research questions, and follow their passions. Her scholarship and mentorship epitomize excellence in engineering, and her legacy will continue to influence the field for decades to come.”

Portrait of Enrica Bernardini
Enrica Bernardini

Enrica Bernardini is a Lecturer III at CEE. She is receiving the Jon R. and Beverly S. Holt Award for Excellence in Teaching. Recipients are faculty members who have shown excellent performance in their teaching. Bernardini obtained her Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees in Civil Engineering, and she received her PhD in Structural Engineering and Innovative Materials from the University of Perugia, Italy. 

“Dr. Bernardini clearly articulated goals for each lecture and fulfilled them every time,” said one student nominator. “Each example she used clarified a point or expanded my understanding of the content.”

We are proud that our faculty members have been honored for their hard work and accomplishments with these awards!