Photo of Paul

Paul Ajegba Receives the Alumni Merit Award 

Former CEEFA Board President and MDOT Director, Paul C. Ajegba, Honored with 2023 Alumni Merit Award

Portrait of Paul Ajegba
Paul Ajegba

Paul C. Ajegba, former CEEFA Board president and former Director of the Michigan Department of Transportation (MDOT), was commended with the 2023 Alumni Merit Award. The Alumni Merit Award is a prestigious distinction that honors U-M CEE graduates who personify the motto “leaders and best.” The recipients of this award exhibit exceptional dedication toward enriching their communities and enhancing the quality of life for others. This accolade applauds their significant efforts and the influential projects they’ve undertaken following their graduation.

Ajegba culminated a three-decade-long, illustrious career with the MDOT, serving his final role as the Director. Before stepping into this significant position, he held important roles as the Metro Region Engineer and the University Region Engineer. In the University Region, his seven-year stint was marked by overseeing his team’s involvement in the planning, design and construction of several significant projects including the widely acclaimed US-23 Flex Route. This project was nominated for America’s Transportation Award and secured a place among the top twelve national finalists.

Coupled with an impressive array of professional feats, Ajegba is also revered for his contributions to key initiatives like the I-94 rehabilitation project in Ann Arbor/Jackson, the I-96/US-23 interchange and the significant I-75 freeway project. His incredible dedication to these initiatives has continuously driven improvements in Michigan’s transportation system.

A graduate with a Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering from Prairie View A&M University, Ajegba further advanced his educational portfolio with a master’s degree in Construction Engineering from the University of Michigan. His extraordinary expertise in the field has earned him the status of a licensed professional engineer in the State of Michigan and in 2022 he was inducted into the National Academy of Construction Hall of Fame.

Outside his outstanding professional journey, Ajegba is an active member of COMTO (Conference of Minority Transportation Officials). His impactful contributions extend to his service on a variety of boards, including AASHTO, ITS America, M-City, University of Michigan, College of Engineering, the Engineering Society of Detroit and the Mackinac Bridge Authority.

Paul C. Ajegba’s career, marked by a consistent commitment to excellence and innovative developments in transportation engineering, fittingly earned him the 2023 Alumni Merit Award.


Portrait of Mason Hinawi
Mason Hinawi

Marketing Communications Specialist
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering