Defualt CEE logo thumbnail

CEE’s Yafeng Yin, Zhengtian Xu, and Zhibin Chen receive best paper award

CEE Professor Yafeng Yin and three of his students have earned the Ryuichi Kitamura Paper Award presented by the Transportation Research Board of the U.S. National Academies.

The award is given annually to the best paper in the Section of Travel Analysis Methods that is authored by students in collaboration with a professor or other mentor. The award honors the memory of CEE Alumnus Ryuichi Kitamura (1949-2009), who earned his PhD in CEE from U-M in 1989 and contributed greatly to the field of activity-travel behavior analysis and was a dedicated mentor to his students.

The award-winning paper is Analysis of Advanced Management of Curbside Parking and was coauthored by Yin and students Zhibin Chen, Zhengtian Xu and Mahmood Zangui. While this paper was written prior to Yin’s appointment in our department, two of the student coauthors have also moved to our department: Zhengtian Xu is now a PhD student under Yin’s supervision at U-M and  Zhibin Chen is a visiting graduate student at U-M.