CEE Doctoral Students Receive NSF Fellowships and Honorable Mentions

Date: April 17, 2018

The National Science Foundation (NSF) has selected two CEE doctoral students to receive 2018 NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) Fellowships.

The awardees are Katherine Dowdell and Steven Woodruff.  Katherine (Kate) is advised by Professor Lutgarde Raskin and Steven is advised by Assistant Professor Evgueni Filipov.

Kate's general interest is in biological...

Concrete Canoe Team

Steel Bridge and Concrete Canoe teams each place first at Regionals and are headed to Nationals!

Date: April 10, 2018
The University of Michigan participated in the ASCE sponsored 2018 North Central Student Conference at Western Michigan University last weekend, April 6-8, which includes the Steel Bridge Competition, Concrete Canoe Competition, and Technical Paper Competition. Members of the North Central Region who participated in the conference were Case Western University (bridge, paper), Lawrence...

Deb Niemeier Emphasizes Social Justice During Richart Lecture

Date: April 3, 2018

Deb A. Niemeier presented the annual Frank E. Richart Jr. Distinguished Lecture on Monday, April 2 in the Iacocca Auditorium in the GG Brown building. Niemeier is a Professor at the Civil and Environmental Engineering department and the School of Education at the University of California, Davis.

Niemeier’s work at UC Davis is focused on integrating models for estimating mobile...

Innovative Tools for Disaster Science & Resilency Collaboration

Date: April 3, 2018

​A new research project, led by U-M Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE) Professor, Sherif El-Tawil, is using technology to solve some of the biggest challenges in the area of disaster science and community resilience following an extreme event.

Interdependencies in Community Resilience (ICoR): A Simulation Framework is funded by an award from the National Science Foundation (NSF...

SangHyun Lee and Meiyin Liu Honored at National Ergonomics Conference

Date: April 2, 2018

Professor SangHyun Lee and his student, Meiyin Liu, both were honored with awards during the 21st Annual Applied Ergonomics Conference held March 26-28 in Atlanta, GA. This event, organized by the Global Organization of Ergonomics (GOErgo), is the nation’s largest conference focused on professional ergonomics.

CEE doctoral student, Meiyin Liu, received the Creativeness in...

Go to top