Four CAREER awards within past year

News date: 

Assistant Professors Adda Athanasopoulos-Zekkos, Ann Jeffers, Carol Menassa and Krista Wigginton have each earned National Science Foundation (NSF) Career Awards within the past twelve months.

This award is given to those who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education and the integration of education and research. It is NSF's most prestigious award in support of junior faculty.

CEE students receive awards at Engineering Graduate Symposium

Houtan Jebelli
Houtan Jebelli
Daeho Kim
News date: 

​Each year, the University of Michigan College of Engineering (COE) holds the Engineering Graduate Symposium, a college-wide event focusing on doctoral and master’s programs and graduate student research. This program is open to all COE undergraduate and graduate students as well as prospective graduate engineering students from other institutions. The day-long program, held this year on Friday, November 10, features numerous opportunities for students. They are able to:

Branko Kerkez selected as NAE Gilbreth Lecturer

Branko Kerkez
News date: 

CEE Assistant Professor, Branko Kerkez, has been selected by the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) as a 2018 Gilbreth Lecturer, a lectureship recognizing outstanding young American engineers.

Dimitrios Zekkos wins Shamsher Prakash Research Award

CEE Professor Dimitrios Zekkos
News date: 

Dr. Dimitrios Zekkos, Associate Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, has won the 2017 Shamsher Prakash Research Award. The Shamsher Prakash Foundation annually selects one young engineer that has made significant contributions to the field of Geotechnical Engineering and/or Geotechnical Earthquake Engineering. 

CEE Alumni Brings Artistic Staff Tribute to Campus

CEE Alumni Jagdish Janveja
News date: 

As the University of Michigan celebrates its bicentennial, one longtime U-M staff member is commemorating the contributions of its staff. Civil and Environmental Engineering alumni, Jagdish “Jack” Janveja, has generously donated funds to create a sculpture honoring the enduring work and support of the U-M staff, from the past, present and future.

President Schlissel matched Janveja’s donation and additional funds were raised via staff contributions through online giving

CEEFA Board Member Wins Distinguished Service Award

CEE Alumni Tarolyn Buckles
CEE Alumni Tarolyn Buckles
News date: 

A Champion for STEM Diversity

U-M Civil and Environmental Engineering alumni Tarolyn Buckles has been selected as the recipient of the 2017 College of Engineering Distinguished Service Award for the extraordinary contributions she has made to the city of Detroit, the civil engineering industry and the University of Michigan community.

“This award exceeds all of my other awards, as it comes from my alma mater. U-M prepared me with the professional and technical ability necessary to do the work, and was the springboard for my success,” says Buckles.

The Internet of Water: $1.8M for Smart Stormwater Project

News date: 

Autonomous "smart" technologies for aging stormwater systems are being developed at the University of Michigan to lessen the impacts of flooding—potentially saving lives and billions of dollars in property damage.

Today, the National Science Foundation awarded a $1.8 million grant to Branko Kerkez, an assistant professor in the U-M Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering.

CEE Students Attend UNLEASH Lab in Denmark

UNLEASH Lab 2017
News date: 

Three Civil and Environmental Engineering Ph.D. students, Christina Reynolds, Kevin Fries and Matt Vedrin, attended the inaugural UNLEASH Lab conference in Denmark in August.

Flannigan Earns First Prize in EMI Paper Competition


Subscribe to RSS - News
Go to top