Sherif El-Tawil receives 2012 Moisseiff award

News date: 
Monday, January 23, 2012

Congratulations to Sherif El-Tawil who has had one of his recent papers selected by the American Society of Civil Engineers for the 2012 Moisseiff award. The award-winning paper was co-authored by his former postdoc, Yasser Alashker, now Assoc. Prof. and Head of the CEE Dept. at King Khalid Univ., Saudi Arabia, and Dr. Fahim Sadek, Structures Group Leader at NIST.

The Moisseiff Award was established by ASCE in 1947 and is a memorial award that recognizes the accomplishments of Leon S. Moisseiff, M.ASCE, a notable contributor to the science and art of structural design. The award is given annually to an important paper published by the Society and dealing with the board field of structural design, including applied mechanics as well as the theoretical analysis, or constructive improvement, of engineering structures such as bridges and frames, of any structural material. The award citation reads "For the paper, Progressive Collapse Resistance of Steel-Concrete Composite Floors." The selection committee particularly noted the paper's novel approaches to influence details commonly used in building construction. The award comes with a certificate, a bronze medal, and a cash prize and will be presented during the 2012 Structures Congress in Chicago, IL.

Go to top